Enlustered


To Judge Or To Pretend Not To Judge
February 22, 2014, 9:55 am
Filed under: Human Potential | Tags: , , , ,

Recently I said in a discussion at a book study meeting that I thought Eckhart Tolle didn’t seem all that enlightened. (I have my reasons.) And the book study group leader said I was judging Eckhart Tolle. I told him about a woman who said to me recently that judging was an everyday necessity (judging whether a cup of water tastes good or not), but that condemning was the thing to avoid. He said, “There’s a difference between judging and discerning.” I said, “Okay, so I’m judging Eckhart Tolle,” and went on to say what I wanted to say.

Here’s my question. Which is more insane: To judge and know you judge, as I did, or do like the study group leader and judge someone for judging and pretend you do nothing wrong, but that someone else does do something wrong when he judges? Hence my point, and the woman’s point: to judge is not the problem. It’s condemning.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

