Enlustered


Three Wise Monkeys
January 3, 2014, 12:36 pm
Filed under: Human Potential

fall winter 2013 063

“see no evil, speak no evil, hear no evil”  — the proverbial principle of “The Three Wise Monkeys

[I’ve always been intrigued by the three monkeys; they seem other-worldly and a bit spooky. Finally it occurred to me why I’m so drawn to them today. This morning I had that song “Timber” in my head by Ke$ha and Pitt Bull. I thought Pitt Bull sings the words of the “proverbial principle” (see no evil, etc.), but the lyrics show that’s not what he says. Anyway, when I thought I heard it in the song, I had a eureka moment: The monkeys see, hear and speak no evil because… there is no evil.

I hear songs a lot in my head that help me see meaning and story in things that relate to ideas I like, such as the idea that there is no evil. I first read about no evil existing in the book, A Course In Miracles. I love this thought. It takes the nightmare out of life, so that it’s just people living and learning, not being “bad.”

There is not much creativity in seeing  someone as evil. I am turned off by movies a lot lately because of elements like absolute good or evil or even fighting included that I just no longer believe in: There is no evil to fight, and we are invincible, so… what are you trying to say? Honestly I think movies manage to say this (that we’re invincible, etc.), even with fighting included. I’m thinking about movies like The Lord of the Rings, which I saw on New Year’s Day with my family.

Note: The metal monkeys, which can hold candles in their “bellies,” in the photo (above) are ones my sister has at her house.]

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] three monkeys represent a new world to me: A world without judgment. (Note: How I see the monkeys is […]

Pingback by “Mon-KEYS!” | Enlustered




Leave a Reply

