Enlustered


No Fear The Cap is Here
December 7, 2013, 9:14 pm
Filed under: Human Potential

I am often afraid of things: a full moon; being outside when it’s dark (with or without a full moon); dogs that MIGHT be loose in the neighborhood where I walk. One day I was walking at the track and it was getting dark and I kept looking at the bushes (that grow honeysuckles in spring) thinking of how a werewolf might appear and get me. Last night I realized I would probably just wait to be killed if zombies tried to get in the house. But one day not long ago I wondered why monsters aren’t real. So many other weird things are real (like cicadas, which come out of the ground every seventeen years, yeah), but nothing that could seriously terrify us like a werewolf; unlike a werewolf, a dog I saw loose one day in the neighborhood walked right by me.

Then just now I was thinking of how I don’t believe in the law of attraction, which says whatever you focus on expands in your life. Lots of things I thought I’d never have, I’ve gotten: a significant amount of time to myself; a new car (a Honda Fit); the ability to do a lot of things I enjoy like cook and go to the farmer’s market; I even feel talented enough to do something I’ve always wanted to do but thought I wasn’t special enough to do (write).

My point is that I think there is more creating this reality than an individual’s beliefs, fears or negative thoughts. I think there is some benevolent cap that’s probably there because there is something we’re meant to learn in life. We’re not here to suffer or experience the worst of the worst. There is a lesson in everything.

That means I never have to feel bad for someone who thinks negative thoughts (as I often do as well) because I know they can still find gifts to remind them of the truth: that they are special, beautiful and deserve to be free and happy.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

