Enlustered


The Harmony Within
October 19, 2013, 12:00 am
Filed under: Human Potential

“Nothing real can be threatened.” (A Course in Miracles)

I think art as I’ve seen it lately in some movies and shows does not imitate life and lacks the harmony of life. I think this art imitates how we fantasize life to be, as we rely on societal ideas of what is desirable instead of our own. I did this as a kid in love stories I made up with all blonde-haired, white women in them. I considered using black women instead, but chose not to–just wasn’t as juicy a love story like the soap operas I watched sometimes with my mom. (I never questioned the use white men in my stories I replayed in my mind. I liked them most even then, probably because I was looking for my soul mate who is white–and arrogant.)

I think real life is truly artful and beautiful (and varied!), but we might not see it (or what we truly have) because the fantasy seems so much better based on the societal norms that have influenced our thinking for many lifetimes. The stories presented in today’s art are not better than ours, just drawn with a heavy hand and that’s good news because truth is effortless.

Even as you watch the movie or show, harmony is unfolding within you. Societal influence can’t stop it. You don’t even have to try to undo society’s hold on you, just recognize its judgments in your thoughts and feelings and allow it and know it cannot touch you. Even if you let popular ideas rule your decisions, the truth and beauty of who you are and what you really want never goes away or stops expressing itself.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

