Enlustered


Talking Trees (Heaven on Earth)
March 8, 2012, 12:42 pm
Filed under: Mental Illness | Tags: , , , , ,

I took a walk in the park yesterday and ventured to stare up at the tree branches tangled against the blue sky. At one point I stopped, thinking I might look crazy, or lose my balance. But I felt urged to turn back, so I did.

I looked at the trees as I have often thought of them: strong, peaceful, enduring. But when I tried to see the trees as I usually do, it didn’t fit. I reluctantly let go of my pre-set perception, and opened myself for something new. I felt kind of crazy, but this reality (through religion, atheism, popular opinions) never made much sense to me.

I kept peering at the trees, as I walked by basketball players on the basket ball court, and as people drove by. I finally felt the trees were telling me something: they were sad. Maybe they miss people. We humans aren’t natural like the squirrels, which crawled all over the trees, or other animals. Humans don’t seem to accept trees and nature as parts of themselves, or even the proven fact that together we help each other, and support each others’ survival (trees literally cleaning the air we breathe).

I know it sounds crazy to believe the trees were communicating with me, but I believe they were. I’m not completely alone. Several months ago, I heard Lierre Keith, author of the book The Vegetarian Myth talk about how trees communicate with each other. She was arguing that vegetarianism and veganism result in more trees being cut to make room for crops.

I just googled “trees communicate” and found an article about how trees communicate to bloom at the same time, or to alert each other to fill their leaves with chemicals that fend off hungry caterpillars.

Another time I heard about someone communicating with a tree was in Holocaust survivor Viktor Frankl’s book, Man’s Search for Meaning. In it he talks about a young woman, who knew she would soon die, talking to a tree outside the window of her hut (from pbs.org):

“I often talk to this tree,” she said to me. I was startled and didn’t quite know how to take her words. Was she delirious? Did she have occasional hallucinations? Anxiously I asked her if the tree replied. “Yes.” What did it say to her? She answered, “It said to me, ‘I am here — I am here — I am life, eternal life.'” …

I would’ve kept this experience to myself if it weren’t for my blog. Perhaps a lot of people keep such experiences to themselves, making talking to trees seem crazy. I don’t see myself as special or different from other humans because I talked to the trees, or because I hear voices (see below, or here).

I think I’m just willing to consider there are intuitive processes in life, and that willingness is probably the reason I’ve gone over the edge in psychotic episodes, which now seem like learning experiences that woke me from absentee living/following the crowd. I miss being a part of a group at work, or in rush hour traffic, but I never felt I belonged, the same as I believe most people feel.

A note on veganism: Monday night I heard a voice say, “Can I ask you a question?” And it scared me because the voices aren’t usually conversational. Then Wednesday night I heard, “Would you fry a human being?” I had asked God to help me decide whether veganism was right a while back, and again recently because I’ve been tempted by delicious, cheesy cornbread and easily-accessible food. One of my weaknesses is fried chicken if family members offer it. I had a piece last week. Honestly I feel mostly good with veganism most of the time, but sometimes I question it.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I talk to trees all the time and grass and animals and birds..I’m simple like that..I had a conversation with a squirrel, no idea what he was saying, but I listened to him until he tired of me and scurried away. 🙂

Comment by TreeHugginVamp

Funny. I do just want the animals to know I care sometimes, like a deer I saw Tuesday. I wish we could all be unafraid of each other, and that I wasn’t afraid of dogs.

Comment by enlustered

P.S. I appreciated your post (“…Missing the Point”) a lot, btw. The “missing the point” thing so fits with some of my experiences. Do people have to be crazy to consider a new point of view (something other than pro life vs. pro choice)? How about “pro peace and happiness for everyone”? Why not go for the gold? Go hard or go home.

Comment by enlustered

Thanks for liking my post. Yup, it seems the ones willing to push the envelope are the ones who seek the truth. Crazy is really just a word made up by humans to describe things/people that they couldn’t understand. We really are an insecure breed, us humans, always having to define everything and name it. Why can’t we all just BE?

Comment by TreeHugginVamp

Oh my gosh. You’re so right. I think the fact that we can’t be is the root of all our problems. We have to “be” before we can “do,” otherwise everything we do is focused on trying to be good enough. Everything we do in a state of trying to be good enough expresses fear more than anything. I think we have a mistrustful environment for this reason probably all over the world because of a lack of being among people. No country can have an “Eden” when so many suffer around them; it negates the term. I believe our suffering is of the same nature, no matter if we live in a dictatorship or democracy. Our fight will always be against the same monster–because we people were meant to be together, whether we fight or suffer or love, we can’t be separate.

Comment by enlustered




Leave a Reply

