Enlustered


The X-rated Apple
March 7, 2012, 11:03 am
Filed under: Society | Tags: , , , , , ,
The x-rated apple

The side of apples we never see. And for good reason. It's best apple growers keep apples such as these to themselves.

I don’t really believe what I said in the caption. But seeing the apple disturbed me, and still does. I kind of didn’t want it at the store. Maybe because it seemed no one else wanted it. It and three other apples were the last of the organic cameo apples on sale at Kroger for 99 cents a pound.

The question is, Why did the apple’s appearance bother me? I think if we see a certain look often enough, we start to consider it normal, or safe. Does that mean everything rare starts to look untrustworthy? I think perhaps it does.

The bottom of the apple especially disturbs me. It’s kind of flat, not knobby and curvy as it meets at the center, or rind, of the apple. I don’t think I’ve ever seen an apple like it; growers must not usually ship them to stores.

I bought the apple precisely because I didn’t want to discriminate. Also, I assumed it’d still taste good.

Of course, I’m writing this because I feel my apple experience sheds light on why humans tend to discriminate against people who are different.

I often lash out at society, but I’m aware that it, like everyone, is innocent, coping with challenges the best it knows how.

This occurred to me Sunday night watching a show I once liked, Once Upon A Time. I hate that the witch is so villainous, and we don’t get much view into who she is, other than… bad. I liked the show better earlier in the season probably because we got more insight into why the evil witch does villainous–annoying!–things. Other characters in the show have also gotten more one-dimensional as the season progresses.

Once again, I think it does people a disservice to hide apples or character traits that are different, rather than facing them head on. In my last post I said I thought everyone should accept their natural selves, and not alter their appearances so much.

I’ve wondered if I was unfair to transgender people, or people who crossdress. I just feel it’d be more comfortable for us all if there weren’t such narrow definitions of beauty, intelligence, and what it means to be “man” or “woman.” I personally found it freeing to stop straightening my hair, which I believe is influenced by the idea that caucasian features are most beautiful.

They are the features we see most often promoted as beautiful in commercials, movies, magazine covers, etc. Despite that, I know I can’t be chopped liver. Nature produced me, just like my ugly apple–except maybe it’s not so ugly. It’s just usually hidden as if it’s unacceptable to be seen–like my African American women’s hair.

Off to eat my apple with some tahini (made from sesame seeds I unintentionally burnt) mixed with homeade cashew butter.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

