Enlustered


Are feelings useful or useless?
February 21, 2011, 9:42 pm
Filed under: Human Potential

I’m trying to post some old drafts that never made it, all in the name of being less judgemental. Opening the gates…

From Feb. 6, 2011

So, this past week (or maybe a bit longer) I’ve been holding onto major irritation with how I’m spending the days of my life, feeling boxed in when it comes to options for my nappy-ass, socially unacceptable hair, and just feeling unsatisfied with living in a culture that seems indifferent to matters of race and individuality.

I guess a lot of times when I feel frustrated I try to make myself feel better, telling myself things like, “change gone come…” But trying a different approach, feeling and allowing my feelings, I think is right for me right now. 

Accepting feelings of hurt instead of trying to chase them away, I think is opposite self-help (and yoga) wisdom, but I’ve always disliked how self-help tells someone to do something right now. In real life people find their own “path” to doing what’s right for them. Without the path, it’s less likely someone will find personal meaning in a life change and more likely they’ll be kind of insincere or fake in following the self-help advice.

To me, this quote (below) is in the same “spirit.” It passes on self-help wisdom that discourages being “negative,” such as the saying that being “negative” draws negative energy. What if being real (even if real is angry or irritated) draws more realness to your life. That’s what I want.

“All I can do is act according to my deepest instinct, and be whatever I must be — crazy or ribald or sad or compassionate or loving or indifferent. That is all anybody can do.” — Katherine Butler Hathaway (Of course, people can also be insincere, and not allow their true feelings.)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

